Home Prize Overview Prize 2018 Past Recipients Prize Selection Committee

Banner Prize MJN Priestley 2018_Prize Overview

Potential recipients
This prize will reward professionals and academics at any stage of their career who have demonstrated exceptional creativity and innovation capacity in the fields of earthquake engineering and engineering seismology, obtaining extraordinary research and professional achievements and demonstrating uncommon skills in education.

Announcement and premise
In 2008 the EUCENTRE Foundation announced the creation of the ROSE School Prize, to honour individuals for creativity, innovation, research and professional achievements and excellence in education in the field of earthquake engineering and engineering seismology. The first recipient of the Prize was Professor M. J. Nigel Priestley, who sadly passed away on December 23rd, 2014. The subsequent awardees were Professors V. V. Bertero (2010), L. Esteva (2012) and G.M. Calvi (2014).
The EUCENTRE Foundation has now decided to rename the ROSE School Prize into the Nigel Priestley International Prize and herewith announces the first edition of the prize under this new name. The fundamental motivations and rules will remain essentially unchanged and are reported below.

Motivations and objectives
The Centre for Post-Graduate Training and Research in Earthquake Engineering and Engineering Seismology, internationally known as ROSE School, was founded in the year 2000, with the purpose of favouring the growth of knowledge, culture, wisdom and sapience, under the conviction that whilst accessibility of information must be regarded as a positive conquer, human direct interaction is fundamental to allow the cultural growth of both lecturer and student. After eight years of progressive success of the ROSE School and unanimous recognition of its international leading status, it was felt that the time was mature to establish a prestigious prize to be attributed to individuals who have best interpreted the spirit and the vision of the School, in its aim of excellence in teaching, research and human relations. The Prize is attributed with a frequency of two years or more. The Prize consists of an art piece created by a renowned sculptor who tries to translate his own feelings and interpretation of earthquakes and their impact on human beings, environment and culture.

Selection Criteria
The selection criteria places the emphasis on creative and innovative thinkers with demonstrated capacity of making major contributions to the field of earthquake engineering and engineering seismology. Whilst individuals will be essentially recognized for past accomplishments, the potential for future important achievements may also be taken into consideration. Examples of aspects to be considered may include (but are not limited to):
>  Research results that have had a significant influence on development of new theories and lines of thought, as well as on practical application;
>  Exceptional and original contribution to the professional practice through influence on design guidelines/codes drafting, and through the participation and leadership in outstanding projects;
>  Exceptional achievements of former PhD students, thus demonstrating uncommon skills in education;
>  Creation of innovative educational programmes and other initiatives;
>  Public entrepreneurship through the advocacy, design, or delivery of effective risk mitigation measures or programmes;
>  Proposal and implementation of creative solutions to problems in engineering or other fields related to earthquake risk mitigation.

The award is based on the degree to which the individual fits the overall profile of creativity, innovation and achievements in research and education, rather than based on a single accomplishment or product.

Nomination Process
Individuals in government, private firms, academia, and the international community are encouraged to nominate eligible candidates. For this purpose, the following must be received by the Eucentre Foundation (prize.nomination@eucentre.it) not later than January 31st of any odd year:
>  A Nomination Statement, succinctly summarising the accomplishments and background of the individual, written by the nominator (maximum 2 pages);
>  A CV of the candidate (maximum 4 pages);
>  Names and contact details of at least two other possible individuals, in addition to the nominator, that may provide additional support to the nomination.

Selection and Award Process
The Selection Committee will review the nominations, and will be in a position to assign the prize to one of the candidates only on the grounds of a unanimous decision. If such decision cannot be taken, the prize will not be awarded. The recipient of the Prize will be invited to receive it at the Nigel Priestley International Seminar of the subsequent year.

Selection Committee
All the previous recipients of the award will be permanent components of the Selection Committee. The minimum number of the components is five; whenever needed, additional components may be nominated by the Science Board of the EUCENTRE Foundation.


WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux